Skip to content

SCI:COM 2021

Calendar icon to

Proudly supported by


Phil Smyth

Scientist, Engineer, Presenter, Messer. Simply Science, UCD Discovery

Steve Pritchard

Strategic Communications Manager (Vaccines) Oxford University

Cara Augustenborg

Irish-American environmental scientist, climate change lecturer, writer and activist

Daniel Kaiser

Scientific Policy Officer in ALLEA

Martin McHugh

Public Engagement Officer with SSPC

Steve Pritchard

Strategic Communications Manager (Vaccines) Oxford University

Christopher Jackson

Professor, Manchester University

Margie McCarthy

Head of Education and Public Engagement

Claire O'Connell


Jeanet Bruil

Head Dutch Research Agenda (NWA)

Vincent Wade

CEO at ADAPT SFI Research Centre for AI Driven Digital Content Technology

Tom Vanderbilt

Author, Science Writer

Hamid Khan

Senior Partnerships coordinator

Felix Ho

Associate Professor Uppsala University

Silvija Markic

Pädagogische Hochschule Ludwigsburg

Clare Wilkinson

Associate Professor In Science Communication at University of the West of England

Maria Elena Villar

Co Director at FIU Steven Cruz Institute for Science, Media + Technology (SCI)

Hessam Habibi

Researcher & Science Communicator

John Slattery

Science for Seminaries, AAAS

Robert O'Malley

Project Director at AAAS-DoSER

Lindsay Keith

Research Fellow, University of Greenwich

Tara Roberson

ARC Centre of Excellence for Engineered Quantum Systems, University of Queensland

Aarti Kapoor

Sci-comm Researcher, Australian National University

Sarah Hayes

Associate Director Academic partnerships & Public Engagement at SSPC

Colm O'Regan

Comedian, Podcaster

Barbara Gormley

PhD researcher, Tutor in the School of Communications at DCU

Ty Branch

Philosopher of Science, Institut Jean Nicod

Aimee Stapleton

Education and Public Engagement Manger at APC Microbiome Ireland at University College Cork

Pete Lunn

Head of Behavioural Research Unit, ESRI

Sanna Reponen

Elements of AI Project Co-ordinator

Alexander Gerber

Scientific Entrepreneur, Research Director of INSCICO

Eric Jensen

Senior Research Fellow, International Consortium of Research Staff Associations (ICoRSA)

Maddie Moate

BAFTA winning TV Presenter & EduTuber

Greg Foot

Science Broadcaster on BBC TV & Radio, YouTuber, Podcaster

Alessandra Fornetti

Executive Director, TEN Program on Sustainability, Venice International University

Sarah Davies

Department of Science and Technology Studies, University of Vienna

Luke Drury

Emeritus Professor of Astrophysics at DIAS. Member and former president Royal Irish Academy.

Mark Little

CEO Kinzen, formerly Storyful

Kyle Marian Viterbo

Science Communicator and Engagement Producer at Science Friday

Merryn Mckinnon

Centre for the Public Awareness of Science, Australian National University

Steve Cross

Public engagement strategist, public event director, communications consultant

Brian Trench

President, PCSTNetwork. Science Communication at DCU

Joseph Roche

Astrophysicist, Assistant Professor in Science Education, TCD

Jessamyn Fairfield

Physicist, director and MC of Bright Club Ireland

Ruth Freeman

Director of Science for Society, Science Foundation Ireland

Maria Baghramian

Professor of American Philosophy, School of Philosophy, University College Dublin

Shane Bergin

Physicist & Assistant Prof in science education @ucddublin .

Ana Payo Payo

Research Fellow at University of Aberdeen

Jonathan McCrea

Broadcaster and Founder, SCI:COM and Whipsmart Media

The event is over

Hosted by


iCRAG is the SFI Research Centre in Applied Geosciences hosted by University College Dublin. We are a team of researchers creating solutions for a sustainable society.

Share on


Science Foundation Ireland

For What's Next


The world’s leading science communication competition

UWE Bristol

MSc Science Communication, UWE Bristol


Improving people's health through innovative medicines


iCRAG Education and Public Engagement

I, Science

from Imperial College London