Skip to content

Future Drought Fund’s Science to Practice Forum Building the Foundations of Drought Resilience

Calendar icon to


Andrew Metcalfe AO

Secretary, Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment

Lyn O'Connell

Deputy Secretary, Water, Climate Adaption, Natural Disasters and Antarctic Group, DAWE

Jade Kennedy

Academic developer and lecturer, University of Wollongong

Professor Pascal Perez

Director of the SMART Infrastructure Facility, University of Wollongong

Philippa Woodhill

Partnerships Director, Australian Rural Leadership Foundation

Nina O'Brien

Disaster Resilience & Recovery Lead, Foundation for Rural & Regional Renewal

Dr Graham Bonnett

Interim Leader, Drought Resilience Mission, CSRIO

Dr Raelene Ward

Senior Lecturer, University of Southern Queensland

Dr Kate Andrews

Executive Officer for NRM Regions Australia and Senior Lecturer, ANU

Dr Emma Austin

Center Manager and PhD researcher, University of Newcastle

Debbie and Ashley Dowden

Challa Station

Associate Professor Anthony Kiem

School of Environmental and Life Sciences, University of Newcastle

Dr Kate Gunn

Senior Research Fellow, Department of Rural Health, University of South Australia

Professor Geoff Gurr

Professor of Applied Ecology, Charles Sturt University

Alexandra Hicks

Young Farmer Business Program, NSW Department of Primary Industries

Andrew Bell

Forum Host/ Facilitator

Dan Christie

Head of Engineering, James Cook University

Professor Yvette Everingham

Director, JCU Centre for Agriculture, Technology and Adoption

Troy Clarkson

A/g Director, Soil Policy Section, Natural Capital and Markets Branch, DAWE

Professor Stewart Lockie

Director of the Cairns Institute, James Cook University

Saideepa Kumar

Lecturer in Agricultural Systems, UTAS

Professor Roger Stone

University of Southern Queensland

Rob Anders

Aboriginal Education and Strategy Officer, UTAS

Rhiannon Schilling

Leader of Agronomy, SARDI

Rebecca Harris

Senior Lecturer in Climatology, UTAS

Dr Rachel Hay

Senior Lecturer Marketing, James Cook University

Mark Stanley

Operator, Regional Connections

Luke Deacon

Associate Director, James Cook University

Associate Professor Katherine Evans

Tasmania Hub Director

Professor Hurriyet Babacan

Research Director, James Cook University

Christine Mulhearn

Assistant Secretary, Innovation and Consumers Branch, DAWE

Alluvium Consulting Australia

Professor Allan Dale

Professor of Tropical Regional Development, The Cairns Institute, James Cook University

Chris Preston

Professor of Weed Management, University of Adelaide

Agricultural Stewardship Package

Ann Starasts

Senior Research Fellow, University of Southern Queensland

The event is over

The $5 billion Future Drought Fund provides secure, continuous funding for drought resilience initiatives. It will help Australian farms and communities prepare for the impacts of inevitable future drought.