Skip to content


Gemma Pearson

Certified Clinical Animal Behaviourist / RCVS Advanced Practitioner in Equine Medicine

Sarah Freeman

Professor of Veterinary Surgery, University of Nottingham

Bruce Bladon

RCVS Specialist & European Veterinary Specialist in Equine Surgery

Antony Clements

Vet and Managing Partner at Baker McVeigh International

Bruce Whitelaw

Chair of Animal Biotechnology / Director, Roslin Institute

Madeleine Campbell

European Diplomate in Animal Welfare Science, Ethics & Law

Matt Leach

Animal Sciences Group Lead, Newcastle University

Penny Hawkins

Head, Animals in Science Department, RSPCA

Katherine Duffy

Veterinary Student, University of Nottingham

Liz Mullineaux

Member and Trustee of the Wild Animal Welfare Committee (WAWC)

Sandra Baker

Research Fellow / Member of the Wildlife Conservation Research Unit, University of Oxford

Dan O'Neill

Associate Professor Companion Animal Epidemiology, RVC

Siobhan Mullan

Chair of Animal Welfare & Veterinary Ethics, University College Dublin

Justine Shotton

BVA President

Cathy Dwyer

Head of Animal Behaviour and Welfare Team, SRUC

Julian Kupfer

AWF Chair of Trustees

The Animal Welfare Foundation (AWF) is BVA’s charity and is directed by veterinary and animal welfare professionals. We use veterinary and scientific knowledge to improve the welfare of animals through science, education and debate. AWF funds research with a practical impact on welfare, supports veterinary education, provides advice resources for owners and vets and encourages debate on key animal welfare issues. By working directly with the veterinary profession, we are able to use expert knowledge to promote best practice and advance animal welfare for generations to come. As a small charity we rely on legacies and donations to support our work. Please visit our website to find out more about our work and how you can support us.